This map is brought to you by the Mahoosuc Initiative, in collaboration with Umbagog Area, Androscoggin Valley, and Bethel Area Chambers of Commerce. The Mahoosuc Initiative helps Mahoosuc Region communities build vibrant local economies, conserve and encourage sound management of the region’s natural resources, and promote healthy communities connected to the land.

Members of the Mahoosuc Initiative are:
Androscoggin River Watershed Council, Appalachian Mountain Club, Appalachian Trail Conservancy, Bethel Area Chamber of Commerce, The Conservation Fund, Mahoosuc Land Trust, Mahoosuc Pathways, Shelburne Trails Club, The Wilderness Society, Tri-County Community Action Programs, Trust for Public Land
 
To learn more about the Initiative and the region, please visit the Mahoosuc Initiative website.

only search Mahoosuc Touring Map


Androscoggin River
(Click for Map)
Errol, NH through Hanover, ME, http://arwc.camp7.org.
The Androscoggin River’s headwaters originate in Rangeley, Parmachenee, and Aziscohos Lakes in ME, but the river assumes its name as it leaves Lake Umbagog in NH. It flows west into Errol, south to Gorham, and eventually back east through Gilead, Bethel, and Hanover, ME. Androscoggin means “curing place for fish”, “fish country in springtime” or “place of fish spearing”. The Androscoggin River Watershed Council has been active in cleaning up the river and promoting recreational use, including sponsoring a Source to the Sea canoe trek.


Androscoggin River Islands
(Click for Map)
Gilead and Bethel, 207-824-3806, www.mahoosuc.org/islands.html.
The Mahoosuc Land Trust owns several islands in the Androscoggin River that were donated by former owners. They provide water, shelter, and food for many species of birds and mammals, but are inhospitable to humans due to thick vegetation, including poison ivy.

Arts Alliance of Northern New Hampshire
History and Heritage Guide, www.aannh.org/heritage/index.php.
The Northern New Hampshire History and Heritage Guide provides information about New Hampshire’s Mahoosuc region. The website also includes information about scenic drives, local history (including books for sale), and a calendar of events and exhibits at www.aannh.org/artsnorth_calendar.php.

Artists' Covered Bridge
(Click for Map)
Newry. Built in 1872, this 87-foot span across Sunday River is one of the most photographed and painted of Maine's historic and picturesque wooden bridges. Favorite swimming hole under the bridge. Follow signs on Sunday River Road.
You Tube

The Balsams Grand Resort and Hotel and Dixville Notch
(Click for Map)
Rt. 26, Dixville, 1-800-255-0600, www.thebalsams.com.  
Located 11 miles west of Errol on Rt. 26 in Dixville Notch, The Balsams is on the National Register of Historic Places.  Dixville is the site of the "first in the nation" electoral primary.  Driving through the dramatic notch offers spectacular views and The Balsams land includes year-round walking trails and a skiing center.

Berlin and Gorham Pulp and Paper Mills
(Click for Map)
Berlin and Gorham.
In their heyday, the Brown Company’s Berlin and Gorham mills were the largest and most advanced pulp and paper mills in the world. The Brown Company organized the first industry forestry program in the country. It also began a research department responsible for many technological breakthroughs including Kodak paper, Bermico piping, Saran Wrap, and the cooking shortening Kream Krisp, forerunner of Crisco shortening. Berlin’s Burgess pulp mill was closed in 2006. The Cascade Paper Mill in Gorham is currently owned by Patriarch Partners of New York, NY.
You Tube
 
Berlin City Heritage Tour
(Click for Map)
Berlin, 603-752-6060, http://www.avhnh.org/docs/walkingtourberlin.pdf.
Berlin is known as “the city that trees built”. An elevation drop in the Androscoggin River provided water power for lumber and paper mills. Mill workers arriving from Quebec, Italy, Ireland, Germany, Scandinavia, and Russia contributed to a rich multi-cultural heritage. Visit community churches listed on the National Register of Historic Places and explore turn-of-the-century building façades. A walking tour with photos and historic background is available on the Androscoggin Valley Hospital website.
You Tube
 
Bethel Historical Society's Regional History Center
(Click for Map)
10-14 Broad St., Bethel, 207-824-2908 or 800-824-2910, http://www.bethelhistorical.org.
The Bethel Historical Society's museum, library and archival collections include a wide range of material about western Maine and the White Mountain region of Maine and New Hampshire. The Robinson (1821) and Mason (1813) houses also offer more than a dozen period rooms and exhibit galleries. Open year round.

Bethel Historic District
(Click for Map)
Bethel is an internationally renowned tourist destination that has hosted summer tourists since the mid 1800’s and has more recently developed a diversity of winter recreation offerings, from skiing to dogsledding. Mahoosuc Arts Council presents year-round programs in music, dance and theater. A self-guided walking tour introduces sites and structures with architectural and historical significance, spanning a period from 1774 to the 1920s (http://www.bethelhistorical.org/Self-guided%20walking%20tour%20of%20Bethel%20Hill%20%282014%29.pdf ).

Boom Piers
(Click for Map)
Berlin, Milan. For many years two major paper companies, Brown Company and International Paper, split the Androscoggin River to float their trees to the mills. A series of booms (chains of logs linked end-to-end and anchored from pier to pier) allowed drivers to channel logs to the correct mill. Parking area and historic marker across from 10th St. on Rt. 16 in Berlin.
  
Errol Town Hall and Errol Lock-Up
(Click for Map)
Errol, 603-482-3351.
The Errol/Umbagog area is steeped in the history of old-time logging. Local author, Richard Pinette, describes the area as "nature's playground" with a rich forest land heritage. The Umbagog Area Heritage Committee plans to restore the Errol Lock-Up and open it to the public as a local history museum displaying photos and artifacts of the logging era. Meanwhile, the committee displays photos of historic scenes from log drives to covered bridges at the Errol Town Hall at 33 Main St. next to L.L. Cote. Call ahead for hours.

Forest Lodge on Rapid River
(Click for Map)
Upton (between Middle Dam and Lake Umbagog), 207-890-8356, www.rapidriverflyfishing.com.
Former home of Louise Dickinson Rich, author of the bestseller "We Took To The Woods" and 26 other books about life in Maine in the 1940s and 1950s. Buildings are listed on the National Registry of Historic Sites, and the nearby Rapid River supports landlocked salmon and native brook trout.

Gorham Historical Society and RR Museum
(Click for Map)
Gorham, 603-466-5338 or 466-2085, www.gorhamnewhampshire.com/railroadmuseum.html.
The arrival of the Atlantic and St. Lawrence railroad in Gorham (as well as Bethel) in 1851 changed the entire region, as tourists from Boston and other cities arrived by train to visit the mountains. The Gorham Historical Society is housed in the 1907 railroad station on Railroad Street. The Railway Station Museum displays local historical artifacts, and there is a 1911 steam locomotive, several box cars, and a Conrail Caboose, adjacent to the museum. One box car contains a model railroad depicting Gorham and Berlin in the 1950's and another contains railroad memorabilia.

Intervale Gateway
(Click for Map)
Bethel. On the southeastern Rt. 26 approach to the village of Bethel, the Intervale Gateway offers a panoramic view across the Androscoggin River to the Mahoosuc Range. The Mahoosuc Land Trust preserved this historic vista by purchasing the land in the mid-1990's. At one time a part of the agricultural lands that stretched along the river, the 18-acre Gateway field is still cut for hay.

Lovejoy Covered Bridge
(Click for Map)
Covered Bridge Rd., Andover, www.andovermaine.com/covbridg.html
Maine's shortest covered bridge (70 feet) was built across Ellis River in 1867.  Fine swimming hole.
You Tube

Mahoosuc Arts Council
(Click for Map)
45 Church St., Bethel, 207-824-3575, www.mahoosucarts.org
A nonprofit organization supporting the advancement of the arts and humanities in the adult communities and schools systems of the Greater Bethel Area since 1986. Performances held at Bingham Auditorium.


Mahoosuc Mountains
(Click for Map)
The spine of the Appalachian Mountains in eastern New Hampshire and western Maine follows the Mahoosuc Range from the northern edge of the Wildcat Ridge in the White Mountain National Forest all the way north to the high peaks of Moody Mountain and Old Blue Mountain near Andover, ME - a linear distance of roughly forty miles. This stretch of rugged country includes the "toughest mile on the Appalachian Trail" through Mahoosuc Notch, a stunning landscape of giant boulders that hold ice year round in its crevices and caves.


Maine Birding Trail - Maine Lakes and Mountains Section
(Click for Map)
Gilead, Newry, Grafton, Riley. The Maine Lakes and Mountains section of the Maine Birding Trail describes birds most often seen in the Evans Notch section of the White Mountain National Forest, and along Rt. 26 at Step Falls preserve and Grafton Notch State Park. Download a trail guide at www.mainebirdingtrail.com/Brochure.html.


Moffett House Museum
(Click for Map)
Berlin and Coos County Historical Society, 119 High Street, Berlin, 603-752-4590.
Local artifacts and books, including military memorabilia, photos and Brown Company bulletins.
Hours Tues.-Sat. 12-4 or by appointment.

Moose Tours
(Click for Map)
Gorham, 877-986-6673 or 603-466-3103 http://www.gorhamnh.org/Pages/GorhamNH_Moose/Index.
View wildlife and discover the long history of people’s coexistence with nature in the Great North Woods. 96% success rate for spotting moose. Three-hour guided bus tours leave five evenings a week, late-May to mid-Oct., from the Gorham Information Booth on the Gorham Town Common. Call ahead for reservations.
You Tube



Mount Jasper
(Click for Map)
Berlin.
Native Americans mined rhyolite at this site to make knives, scrapers, drills and projectile points. Mt. Jasper rhyolite has been found in many New England Native American archeological sites, proving widespread trade. There is a small exhibit of Mt. Jasper artifacts at the Berlin Public Library at 270 Main St. A 2-mile loop hike takes you to Mt. Jasper's scenic ledges overlooking Berlin (see Mount Jasper Trail under Forests, Parks and Trails).

Nansen Ski Jump
(Click for Map)
Berlin. This 170’ steel frame, built in 1936, hosted several early Winter Olympics ski jumping trials. For 50 years it was the largest ski jump in the eastern U.S. The jump is still visible from Rt. 16 north of Berlin.

Northern Forest Heritage Park
(Click for Map)
Berlin, 603-752-7202, www.northernforestheritage.org.
Interprets the history of the working forest and celebrates the multi-cultural heritage of the Great North Woods Region. Enjoy a scenic river ride along the beautiful and historical Androscoggin River, daily at 6 pm in season or by reservation. Boats leave from the docks at Northern Forest Heritage Park and the tour generally lasts 90 minutes up the river and back. Enjoy a narrated ride describing the significance of the river, its culture and history. The park is a three acre site with waterfront access and walkways and a full-size replica logging camp comprised of cookhouse, bunkhouse, working blacksmith shop, etc. A Museum and Artisan Gift Shop in the historic Brown Company house at 961 Main St. in Berlin, is open year round and the Heritage Park is open May through October - call ahead to be sure it's open the day you'd like to visit.
You Tube

Old Man of the Valley
(Click for Map)
Rt. 2, Shelburne. This glacial erratic boulder greets visitors from Maine as they enter New Hampshire on Rt. 2. The boulder was present when Stephen Messer arrived in 1772; the profile appeared to be looking upstream along the Androscoggin River, so Messer took that as a good omen and settled nearby. Marked by a sign on Rt. 2 a few hundred yards from the state border; park on Conner Road, and follow a short path to the site.

Orthodox Church of the Holy Resurrection
(Click for Map)
20 Petrograd St., Berlin.
Known locally as the "Russian Church" and on the National Register of Historic Places, this church is the finest example of Byzantine Eclectic design in New Hampshire.  The historical origins are rooted in the Russian immigrant workforce for the pulp and paper industry in Berlin.

The Overlook
(Click for Map)
Rt. 26, Errol. Two miles south of Errol on Rt. 26, the view opens up to the south and on a good day you can see Mt. Washington. (Cell phones also work here.) A wide breakdown lane allows cars to pull off the main highway.

Scenic Overlook
(Click for Map)
Rt. 2, Shelburne. An overlook on the north side of U.S. Rt. 2 just east of the Shelburne village center, provides dramatic views of the Androscoggin River and the southern Mahoosuc Mountain Range. From this viewpoint, it is easy to imagine how the Androscoggin Glacier carved out this narrow river valley between two steep mountain ranges.

Shelburne Birches
(Click for Map)
A stretch of Rt. 2 in Shelburne is lined with beautiful white birches on land donated to the town of Shelburne by the Brown Company. Beginning in 1998, some areas have been thinned to encourage growth of more birch trees.

St. Kieran Community Center for the Arts
(Click for Map)
155 Emery St., Berlin, 603-752-1028, www.stkieranarts.org.
Founded in 2000, this community non-profit is located in the late-nineteenth century baroque-style St. Kieran Church. The Center offers art exhibits, performances and community events in a space that seats 400 and boasts an 1898 pipe organ. See events schedule on the website.
You Tube

Stone Fish
(Click for Map)
Shelburne. This stone figure was created by local stone mason George Emery in the early 1900’s on the estate of New York financier K.W. Aston. The “Stone Fish” is unmarked, but can be observed on the south side of U.S. Route 2 approximately 1/2 mile east of the AT and 1/2 mile west of the Shelburne visitor center.

Thirteen Mile Woods Wildlife Viewing Area
(Click for Map)
Errol, Dummer, www.wildlife.state.nh.us/Outdoor_Recreation/wildlife_watching.htm.
This area has been designated a Watchable Wildlife corridor by the state of New Hampshire. Interpretive signs are posted at the entrance to Mollidgewock State Park and Androscoggin Wayside in Errol, and at the Paul Bofinger Conservation area and the Pontook Dam site in Dummer. New Hampshire’s Wildlife Viewing Guide is available for purchase at http://www.wildlife.state.nh.us/Shop/shop_books.htm.

Tourmaline Mines
(Click for Map)
Newry, www.maine.gov/dacf/mgs/explore/minerals/index.shtml.
Tourmaline was declared the official Maine state mineral in 1971. This gem forms long crystals in varying shades of pink, red, green, blue, yellow and brown. The world’s largest deposit of gem tourmaline was discovered in Newry in 1972. Several old mines that produced a variety of gemstones are scattered around Plumbago Mountain.

Website design by Tourmaline Media